Skip to content Skip to content
Content starts here
Image of the Librarians and Library

Hooksett School Libraries Recognized for Excellence

The Hooksett school district’s library program has been selected as a finalist for the New Hampshire School Library Media Association’s “Outstanding School Library Program” award. Hooksett is one of three programs chosen as finalists.

Dr. Charles P. Littlefield, superintendent of schools for SAU 15, nominated Hooksett’s school library program for the award.  Dr. Littlefield noted that the district’s libraries have transformed themselves over the past few years into “vibrant centers of learning” that provide access to technology and encourage the community beyond the walls of the schools to use them as a resource.“Our libraries are not warehouses for books; they are places to find answers and come up with new questions, a place for learning by discovery through the increased integration of technology, professional staffing and sustaining budget,”

Littlefield explained. “Our focus has shifted to establishing the library as the heart of the school, where materials, resources, ideas and information are freely exchanged by all patrons at all ages.”

The three libraries recognized by Littlefield’s nomination are Fred C. Underhill School, Hooksett Memorial School, and David R. Cawley Middle School. They are run by librarians Karen Landsman, Rosanne Beaudoin, and Justine Thain along with library assistants Diane Lovejoy, Linda Williams, and Nicole Boisvert.

All three NHSLMA Outstanding Library Program finalists will be honored and the winner announced on May 15 at the NHSLMA Annual Conference at the Radisson in Manchester. The winner will also be recognized at the NH Excellence in Education Awards on June 6.

For more information about the NH School Library Media Association annual awards, please contact Kathy Pearce, NHSLMA awards and scholarships chair, at or at 603-868-2375 x6037.

Comments are closed.